Grant W. Liddle Award

GWLA-1 The Grant W. Liddle Award was established in 1983 by the Vanderbilt University Medical Center House Staff to recognize faculty members who demonstrate exemplary leadership in the promotion of scientific research at VUMC.

A native of American Fork, Utah, Dr. Liddle graduated first in his class from the University of Utah in 1943.  After obtaining an MD degree in 1948 from the University of California in San Francisco, he served as a post-doctoral fellow at the newly formed Metabolic Research Unit at the NIH. In 1956, Liddle was recruited by Dr. Hugh J. Morgan to become director of Endocrinology at Vanderbilt University. He was named Chairman of the Department of Medicine in 1968, a position he held until 1983.

Liddle's career was marked by commitment to excellence in research, patient care, and teaching house staff and medical students. His research accomplishments include developing the dexamethasone suppression test and matyrapone test for assessing pituitary-adrenal gland function; describing a new form of hypertension, pseudohypoaldosteronism (Liddle's Syndrome); developing spironolactones as useful aldosterone antagonists; and systematically improving methods for treating Cushing's disease. In 1982, he was elected to the National Academy of Sciences and the Royal College of Physicians in England.

Please note: this award is not the same as the Grant W. Liddle School of Medicine Faculty Award for which you can find more information and a history of recipients on this Office of Research page.

Grant W. Liddle Award Recipients

2021 Justin M. Gregory, MD, MSCI
2020 Guatam ‘Jay’ Bhave, M.D., Ph.D.
2019 Christianne Roumie, M.D., M.P.H.
2018 Daniel A. Barocas, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.C.S.
2017 Donald H. Arnold, MD, FAAP, MPH
2016 Michael F. Vaezi, M.D., Ph.D., M.S.
2015 Keith T. Wilson, M.D AGAF
2014 Jonathan G. Schoenecker, M.D., Ph.D.
2013 Terence S. Dermody, M.D.
2012 Russell Rothman, M.D., M.P.P.
2011 Alfred L. George, Jr., M.D.
2010 Harold L. Moses, M.D.
2009 D. Brent Polk, M.D.
2008 Dennis E. Hallahan, M.D.
2007 Nancy Brown, M.D.
2006 Adrian Jarquin-Valdivia, M.D., R.D.M.S.
2005 Marshall L. Summar, M.D.
2004 Denis M. O’Day, M.D., F.A.C.S.
2003 Herbert S. Schwartz, M.D.
2002 John A. Zic, M.D.
2001 Kathryn M. Edwards, M.D.
2000 R. Michael Rodriguez, M.D.
1999 David H. Van Buren, M.D.
1998 C. Wright Pinson, M.B.A., M.D.
1997 Steven Leach, M.D.
1996 Jason D. Morrow, M.D.
1995 Robert H. Ossoff, M.D., Ph.D.
1994 William O. Richards, M.D.
1993 Barney S. Graham, M.D.
1992 Gordon Bernard, M.D.
1991 Achilles Demetrious, M.D., Ph.D.
1990 David Robertson, M.D.
1989 Robert Collins, M.D.
1988 Stanley Cohen, Ph.D.
1987 John A. Oates, M.D.
1986 David T. Karzon, M.D.
1985 Naji N. Abumrad, M.D.
1984 Fayez K. Ghishan, M.D.
1983 Grant W. Liddle, M.D.