Vanderbilt Prize Student Scholar

Nominations for the Vanderbilt Prize Student Scholar are now closed. Check back soon for the announcement of this year's Student Scholar!

The chosen recipient will be mentored by the 2017 Vanderbilt Prize Winner, Dr. Lynne Maquat, who will receive the Prize and deliver a Flexner Discovery lecture on the Vanderbilt campus on November 29, 2018.

2016 Vanderbilt Prize Student Scholar, Chloe Snider (left) with 2016 Vanderbilt Prize Winner, Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D., at Fuchs' Flexner Discovery Lecture, March 30, 2017

Candidates for the Vanderbilt Prize Student Scholar are female graduate students in the biomedical sciences enrolled in Vanderbilt University School of Medicine’s Ph.D. track (includes Ph.D. and M.D./Ph.D. trainees) who have completed the qualifying exam and have at least one year left to complete the Ph.D. degree.

The Vanderbilt Prize Student Scholar receives a $1,000 cash prize and is afforded the distinct opportunity to be mentored for a year by the corresponding recipient of the Vanderbilt Prize in Biomedical Science – a woman scientist of national reputation who has a stellar record of research accomplishments and is known for her mentorship of women in science. 

This cycle’s Scholar will be mentored by the 2017 Vanderbilt Prize recipient, Lynne Maquat, Ph.D., an internationally known scientist at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry. The Vanderbilt Prize Student Scholar will be recognized during Dr. Maquat’s Flexner Discovery Lecture on November 29, 2018.

Nominations are accepted from department chairs or program directors in the biomedical sciences, as well as directors of graduate studies and faculty mentors. Competitive nominees are those who demonstrate excellent leadership qualities through their research and service to the scientific community as well as characteristics that exhibit outstanding potential to impact medicine through research during their careers.




  • Female graduate student in biomedical sciences at Vanderbilt (Ph.D. or M.D./Ph.D. track)
  • Must have at least one year left to complete the Ph.D. degree
  • Must have completed the qualifying examination

Submission Requirements (in single PDF):

  • Nominee's CV
  • Nomination letter from the faculty mentor, adviser, or nominator
  • Copy of the candidate’s thesis proposal
  • Committee report from the qualifying examination


Nominations closed on August 13, 2018.


For more information, contact Anna Haase at or 615-875-7529.