Radiology Trainees, Faculty Celebrated at Annual Graduation Recognition Ceremony

The Department of Radiology last week hosted its annual recognition ceremony for graduating residents and fellows.

More than 140 people attended the ceremony, held at the University Club of Nashville, to celebrate the eight residents and 13 fellows who complete training in their respective programs at the end of this month.

During the event, graduates were recognized individually by diagnostic radiology residency program director Edwin Donnelly, M.D., Ph.D. or their respective fellowship program directors for their achievements.  

 “It’s been an honor to work with these outstanding young physicians,” said Dr. Donnelly. “They all have amazing futures ahead of them.”

All eight of the graduating residents will continue their radiology training at Vanderbilt as fellows in one of the department’s 12 subspecialty programs

Of the graduating fellows, six also completed their radiology residency at Vanderbilt. Fellow graduates Drs. Anthony Borgmann, Elizabeth Craig, Aditi Desai and Brent Savoie will contiue at Vanderbilt as radiology faculty. 

“We look forward to working with each of them and training them in the next chapter of their careers,” added Dr. Donnelly. “I can’t wait to see what they accomplish.”

In addition to the presentation of graduation certificates, the department unveiled the Class of 2017 senior composite and presented special recognition awards to the following faculty and trainees who’ve demonstrated outstanding dedication to radiology research and education:

  • Thomas Dina Model Resident Award – Brent Roach, M.D.
  • Resident Teacher of the Year Award – C. Noran Taylor, M.D.
  • Teacher of the Year Award – Lori Deitte, M.D.
  • Senior Residents’ Teacher of the Year Award – Sumit Pruthi, M.D.
  • Senior Residents’ Model Radiologist Award – Jack Mayo, M.D.
  • Fellow Teacher of the Year – Brian Flanagan, M.D.
  • Roentgen Research Award - Micah Fritsche, M.D.

“Graduation is a wonderful time to come together to celebrate the achievements of our residents, fellows and the faculty who train them,” said Reed Omary, M.D., M.S., Carol D. and Henry P. Pendergrass Professor and Chair, Department of Radiology and Radiological Sciences. “We wish them the best of luck as they pursue the next step in their careers as radiology leaders.”

The complete list of graduates is also provided below.

Resident Class of 2017

  • Brett Barker, M.D., Chief Resident
  • Colin Carroll, M.D., Chief Resident
  • David Decktor, M.D.
  • Michael Hogan, M.D.
  • John McKay, M.D.
  • Matt Prater, M.D.
  • Brent Roach, M.D.
  • Will Walton, M.D.

Fellow Class of 2017

Musculoskeletal Radiology Certificate Presentation

  • Sarah Deraney, M.D.
  • Adam Militana, M.D.

Neuroradiology Certificate Presentation

  • Keith Andrews, M.D.
  • Allison Johnsen, M.D.
  • James Sagar, M.D.

Body Imaging Certificate Presentation

  • Elizabeth Craig, M.D.
  • Brian Flanagan, D.O.

Women’s Imaging Certificate Presentation

  • Aditi Desai, M.D.
  • Margaret Ann Mays, M.D.

Cardiopulmonary Radiology Certificate Presentation

  • Brent Savoie, M.D.

Interventional Radiology Certificate Presentation

  • Tony Borgmann, M.D.
  • Trent James, M.D.
  • David Johnson, M.D.


Click here to view/download event photos, courtesy of pediatric radiology faculty Yu Luo, Ph.D., M.D.