Deitte and Fowler Awarded Inaugural Faculty Fellowship to Advance Medical Education

The Vanderbilt University School of Medicine recently awarded Lori Deitte, M.D., Department of Radiology, and Leslie Fowler, M.Ed., Department of Anesthesiology, an inaugural Faculty Fellowship to Advance Medical Education.

This fellowship award is designated specifically for medical educators, and encourages faculty to create innovative educational programs for medical students, post-graduate trainees and/or practicing physicians. Deitte and Fowler, along with co-investigators Meaghan Magarik, M.D., Department of Radiology, and Amy Robertson, M.D., Department of Anesthesiology, are collaborating on the project, “QuizTime: A Smartphone Application to Improve Acquisition and Patient Centered Care Delivery.” Matthew McEvoy, M.D., Department of Anesthesiology is the senior faculty educator for this project.

During last summer’s Lifelong Continuing Health Professional Development Design Shop, Deitte and McEvoy identified an opportunity to integrate learning into the workplace using a smartphone application. This initial idea led them to work with Toufeeq Ahmed, Ph.D., Department of Biomedical Informatics, to develop “QuizTime,” a web-based smartphone application, and to conduct a pilot study consisting of daily questions for radiology and anesthesiology residents. Asma Ahmad, M.D., Department of Radiology, helped lead the development of radiology questions for the pilot program.

“The pilot questions were very well received,” said Deitte. “Based on the initial results, we decided to test our hypothesis that asynchronous workplace-based education methods via QuizTime will increase knowledge acquisition, as well as result in clinical process improvement in anesthesia and radiology for two components of the Choosing Wisely Campaign (Transfusion Practices and Image Wisely).”  

Funding for the project will begin July 1, 2016, and will award $25,000 per year for two years.

(Left to right) Meaghan Magarik, M.D., Leslie Fowler, M.Ed., and Lori Deitte, M.D.