The members of our department are organized in 5 divisions, based on their professional training and their primary area of clinical practice.

The General Psychiatry Division is the largest and includes psychiatrists, psychiatric nurse practitioners and Masters-prepared therapists who are engaged in services at the Vanderbilt Psychiatric Hospital and the Vanderbilt University Hospital. The Division also includes several researchers who study the neural basis of psychiatric disorders. The Division offers the 4-year General Psychiatry Residency Program.

The Psychology Division is the home for all PhD and PsyD psychologists in the Department, as well as several PhD basic scientists. The Division offers a 1-year predoctoral internship and a 1-2 year postdoctoral fellowship.

The Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Division includes all board-certified child psychiatrists in our department, as well psychiatric nurse practitioners and Masters-prepared therapists who work with children and adolescents. The Division offers the 2-year Child and Adolescent Psychiatry fellowship.

The Addiction Psychiatry Division is rapidly growing and now includes board-certified addiction psychiatrists, psychiatric nurse practitioners, Masters-prepared therapists and peer recovery coaches who are providing team-based care for patients with substance use disorders and other co-occurring psychiatric disorders. The Division offers the 1-year Addiction Psychiatry fellowship and partners on the training of our 1-year Addiction Medicine fellows.

The Geriatric Psychiatry Division includes board-certified geriatric psychiatrists working at Vanderbilt University Medical Center and the Nashville VA. The Division offers the 1-year Geriatric Psychiatry fellowship.

Heckers_Stephan.jpg Stephan Heckers, M.D., M.Sc.
Chair, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
William P. and Henry B. Test Chair in Schizophrenia Research