Patients and Visitors go to:

Neurology Chair

Dane Chetkovich, M.D., Ph.D., Professor and Chairman
of Neurology

Faculty By Divisions

Patrick J. M. Lavin, M.B., B.Ch., B.A.O., M.R.C.P.I.

Professor of Neurology


Dr. Lavin graduated from University College in Dublin, Ireland in 1964, and attended University College Medical School in Dublin, where he earned his M.B., B.Ch. and B.A.O in 1970.

Lavin served an internship in Medicine and Surgery at St. Vincent’s Hospital in Elm Park, Dublin. He was senior house officer during his residency in Medicine at St. Vincent’s Hospital from 1971 – 1973. Lavin entered general practice in Nova Scotia, Canada, and then became a senior resident in General Medicine at Leicester General Hospital. He was a senior resident in Neurology at Leicester Royal Infirmary, then St. James University Hospital and Chapel Allerton Hospital in Leeds until 1978, when he became a research fellow at Charing Cross Hospital in London.

Lavin was an internist at James Connolly Memorial Hospital and Dublin and Our Lady’s Hospital before becoming a Registrar in Neurology at Adelaid Hospital and St. Vincent’s Hospital in 1980. Lavin served as Chief Resident in Neurology at CWRU in Cleveland, Ohio, and went on to become a fellow in Neuro-ophthalmology in the University. He became an instructor in Neurology at CWRU in 1982.

Lavin joined the faculty at Vanderbilt University Medical Center in 1983 as assistant professor in the Department of Neurology. He was promoted to associate professor in 1989, and professor in 2001 – a position he still holds. Lavin has also served as director of the Ocular Motility Laboratory and director of the Transcranial Doppler Laboratory.