Patients and Visitors go to:

Neurology Chair

Dane Chetkovich, M.D., Ph.D., Professor and Chairman
of Neurology

Faculty By Divisions

Heather Koons, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Neurology


Dr. Koons received her B.A. degree (with distinction) from the University of Virginia College of Arts and Sciences and medical degree from the Yale School of Medicine.  She completed her internship in internal medicine at Vanderbilt University Medical Center where she also completed her neurology residency. She served as chief resident for the neurology residency in her final year.

After completing her training, she continued her time at Vanderbilt as an Affiliate Assistant Professor of Neurology while spending a year as the Consultant Neurologist at Bokamoso Private Hospital in Gaborone, Botswana. She returned to Nashville and Vanderbilt as full time faculty in the general neurology division and as a fellow in the movement disorders division. After completing fellowship she continued as Assistant Professor in the movement disorders division.  

Dr. Koons is also actively involved in education.  She served as the neurology residency program's former Program Director and continues to serve as the Associate Program Director.  She is a VUSM Master Clinical Teacher, directs the Deep Brain Stimulation medical student elective, and contributes to the Brain, Behavior and Movement course.