Vanderbilt University Medical Center Radiation Safety Committee (VUMC RSC)

Meets: Quarterly.

Radioactive Material Permit:

See the Principal Investigator (PI) Permit to Use Radioactive Material page for the permit application and information on how to apply. 


The Vanderbilt University Medical Center Radiation Safety Committee (VUMC RSC) will ensure that radioactive material, licensed under the broadscope radioactive material license, and ionizing radiation producing equipment (i.e. x-ray equipment, fluoroscopes, accelerators, etc.) are used safely, and in compliance with State of Tennessee and federal regulations, broadscope license conditions, and certified registrations. The RSC must also; (1) review and approve or disapprove users and uses of licensed material; (2) review recommendations on ways to maintain individual and collective doses as low as reasonably achievable (ALARA); (3) review quarterly, a summary of the occupational radiation dose records (ALARA report) of all personnel working with licensed material; (4) review quarterly all incidents involving licensed materials with respect to cause and subsequent actions taken; and (5) review annually the radiation safety program.

RSC Members

Robert Rodgers (chair) Radiation Oncology; LINAC Accelerator Representative
Daniel Brown Radiology
Michael Freeman Radiation Oncology Research; MCN Irradiator
Angela Mueller Pathology
Kimberly Halliburton Vanderbilt Heart & Vascular Institute
Aaron Hartley VUMC/PET Nuclear Pharmacy
Pamela Hodges Monroe Carrell Jr. Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt)
Philip Scherer Nuclear Medicine
Kenneth Lewis Radiology/Cyclotron
Evan Osmundson Radiation Oncology; LINAC expert physician
Todd Peterson Vanderbilt Institute of Imaging Science
Dana Wilson Hospital Administration & Nursing Representative
Administrative & Ex Officio
Christopher Helstern Radiation Safety Officer
Kevin Warren OCRS Administration/Management Representative
Mark Jenkins Office of Healthcare Compliance
Tamera Means Occupational Health Clinic
Karen Jackson Division of Animal Care

Human Studies Involving Radiation

The Human Subjects Radiation Committee (HSRC) and the Radioactive Drug Research Committee (RDRC) are radiation safety committees that come under the jurisdiction of the Institutional Review Board (IRB).  

The application forms for these two committees may be downloaded from the IRB's web site.  These forms must be submitted to the IRB.  Do not submit these forms to the Radiation Safety Officer.