Vanderbilt University Radiation Safety Committee (VU RSC)

Meets: Biannually.

Radioactive Material Permit:

See the Principal Investigator (PI) Permit to Use Radioactive Material page for the permit application and information on how to apply. 


The Radiation Safety Committee (RSC) will ensure that radioactive material, licensed under the broadscope radioactive material license, and ionizing radiation producing equipment (i.e. x-ray equipment, fluoroscopes, accelerators, etc.) are used safely, and in compliance with State of Tennessee and federal regulations, broadscope license conditions, and certified registrations. The RSC must also; (1) review and approve or disapprove users and uses of licensed material; (2) review recommendations on ways to maintain individual and collective doses as low as reasonably achievable (ALARA); (3) review biannually, a summary of the occupational radiation dose records (ALARA report) of all personnel working with licensed material; (4) review biannually all incidents involving licensed materials with respect to cause and subsequent actions taken; and (5) review annually the radiation safety program.

RSC Members

Brian Wadzinski (Chair) Pharmacology
Todd Graham Arts & Sciences
Owen McGuinness Molecular Physiology & Biophysics
Houra Merrikh Biochemistry
Andrew Sternberg School of Engineering; van de Graaff Accelerator & Irradiator Representative
Administrative & Ex Officio
Christopher Helstern Radiation Safety Officer
Andrea George VU EHS / Management Representative
Tamara Means Occupational Health Clinic
Karen Jackson Division of Animal Care
Kevin Warren OCRS Administration