Vanderbilt Wilson County Hospital Radiation Safety Committee (VWCH RSC)

Meets: Biannually.


The Vanderbilt Wilson County Hospital Radiation Safety Committee (VWCH RSC) will ensure that radioactive material, licensed under the specific radioactive material license, and ionizing radiation producing equipment (i.e. x-ray equipment, fluoroscopes, accelerators, etc.) are used safely, and in compliance with State of Tennessee and federal regulations, broadscope license conditions, and certified registrations. The VWCH RSC must also; (1) review and approve or disapprove users and uses of licensed material; (2) review recommendations on ways to maintain individual and collective doses as low as reasonably achievable (ALARA); (3) review biannually, a summary of the occupational radiation dose records (ALARA report) of all personnel working with licensed material; (4) review biannually all incidents involving licensed materials with respect to cause and subsequent actions taken; and (5) review annually the radiation safety program.

VWCH RSC Members

Manuel Morales (Chair) VWCH Radiation Oncology
Phillip Scherer VWCH Radiation Oncology/Nuclear Medicine
Lori Martin VWCH Nursing Representative
Nathan Kim VWCH Radiation Oncology
Administrative & Ex Officio
Christopher Helstern Radiation Safety Officer
Adam Huggins, MD VWCH Management Representative
Dawn Shone VWCH Radiology
Kevin Warren OCRS Administration
Kenneth Lewis Diagnostic Medical Physicist