Vanderbilt Tullahoma Harton Hospital Radiation Safety Committee (VTHH RSC)

Meets: Biannually.


The Vanderbilt Tullahoma-Harton Hospital Radiation Safety Committee (VTHH RSC) will ensure that radioactive material, licensed under the specific radioactive material license, and ionizing radiation producing equipment (i.e. x-ray equipment, fluoroscopes, accelerators, etc.) are used safely, and in compliance with State of Tennessee and federal regulations, radioactive material license conditions, and certified registrations. The VTHH RSC must also; (1) review and approve or disapprove users and uses of licensed material; (2) review recommendations on ways to maintain individual and collective doses as low as reasonably achievable (ALARA); (3) review biannually, a summary of the occupational radiation dose records (ALARA report) of all personnel working with licensed material; (4) review biannually all incidents involving licensed materials with respect to cause and subsequent actions taken; and (5) review annually the radiation safety program.

VTHH RSC Members

Philip Scherer (Chair) VTHH Radiology/Nuclear Medicine
Allison Dyer VTHH Nursing Representative
Administrative & Ex Officio
Christopher Helstern Radiation Safety Officer
Jesse Mock VTHH Management Representative
Mary Thompson VTHH Radiology
Kevin Warren OCRS Administration
Kenneth Lewis Diagnostic Medical Physicist
Danny Self VTHH Cardiology