Vanderbilt Radiology Attends 2017 TRS Annual Scientific Meeting

Vanderbilt Radiology faculty and residents attended the 2017 Tennessee Radiological Scociety’s (TRS) Annual Scientific Meeting held last weekend in Franklin, Tennessee. 

Radiology leaders and legislators from across the state attended the two-day meeting featuring sessions on practice-related issues, risk management and breast imaging.

Presentations made by Vanderbilt radiology faculty, including Drs. Andrea Birch, Reagan Leverett, Margaret Ann Mays and Lucy Spalluto, were primarily related to breast imaging. Dr. Spalluto, cofounder of the department’s Women in Radiology group and newly elected Chair of the TRS Women and Diversity Committee, also gave a presentation on recent initiatives of the American College of Radiology Commission on Women and Diversity.

"Our department was well represented at this year’s TRS meeting,” said Vanderbilt radiology Vice Chair of Education and TRS Board of Directors member Dr. Lori Deitte. “This was a wonderful opportunity for our faculty to share their breast imaging expertise and experience with other radiologists throughout the state. It was also exciting to see our residents present to the TRS membership on behalf of the TRS Resident and Fellow Section."

Second-year diagnostic radiology residents Drs. Couture and Landman gave a presentation about their recent participation in the TRS Day on the Hill, where they met with state representatives and senators about legislation impacting the practice of radiology and medicine in Tennessee.

Vanderbilt residents attending the meeting also participated in the Resident and Fellow Section and Executive Board Election meeting. Dr. Couture, who held the position of Resident and Fellow Section Secretary following last year’s TRS meeting, was elected president this year.

“As president of the Resident and Fellow Section, I hope to increase participation from Vanderbilt residents as well as from residents across the state, and further improve the Day on the Hill,” said Dr. Couture. “It’s a tremendous experience that all residents should get a chance to partake in.”

Additional Vanderbilt Radiology faculty and trainees who attended this year’s TRS meeting included Drs. Deitte, Vaughn Braxton, Brian Bussey, Samuel Pevzner, John Huff, Mary Ann Keenan and Harold Thompson.

Vanderbilt radiology faculty and residents at the 2017 Tennessee Radiological Society's Annual Scientific Meeting. (Photo courtesy of Dr. Lori Deitte)