The Vanderbilt Department of Anesthesiology offers Clinican Scientist mentored training through the BH Robbins Scholars Program. The primary goal of the BH Robbins Scholars Program is to recruit and train the next generation of academic anesthesiologists who will shape the future of our specialty. The BH Robbins Scholars Program is named in honor of our first department chairman, Benjamin H. Robbins, MD.

Program Overview: The BH Robbins Scholars Program provides a comprehensive, mentored research experience for early-stage physician scientists that, depending on entry point into the program, spans residency, an optional clinical fellowship in the discipline of interest, and an NIH-supported T32 research fellowship. Scholars enter the program during internship or their CA-2 year and complete six months of mentored research prior to the end of the CA-3 year followed by a minimum of 80% research during the research fellowship. Scholars who complete clinical training elsewhere join the Program during their fellowship and early faculty appointment.

Following fellowship, scholars are competitive for joining the faculty in the Department of Anesthesiology and are allocated protected research time based on their academic productivity, planned research/training and faculty track (Physician Scientist or Clinician Educator). Scholars may request to participate in additional formal education (e.g., Master of Science in Clinical Investigation, Master of Public Health, or other degree programs) offered at Vanderbilt during the latter part of the BH Robbins Scholars Program.

Robbins Scholars receive numerous benefits, including:

  • Personalized mentorship
  • Personalized career development counseling
  • Research and Educational support resources
  • Protected research time
  • Salary supplement during residency and fellowship
  • Possible NIH Student Loan Reimbursement (up to $70,000/year)
  • Fast Track to career development and extramural funding

Scholar Application Process: Scholar candidates should complete the application process outlined below and will be selected based on their perceived potential for commitment to a successful career in academic anesthesiology. Offer letters will be distributed in December or January of the CA-2 year.

  •  View the BH Robbins Program Requirements.
  • Learn more about BH Robbins Program Application.
  • View a list of current BH Robbins Scholars, Mentors and Projects.
  • Read about Scholars Research and Accomplishments.
  • Learn more about the BH Robbins Evaluation Process and Project Report.
  • Click here for important information on how to receive up to $35,000 annually from the National Institutes of Health toward outstanding student loans. Note: Please see NIH website for annual submission deadline.

For more information regarding the BH Robbins Scholars program, please contact co-directors Frederic T. Billings IV, MD, MSCI and Jerod Denton, PhD, at