Neurotology and Cranial Base Surgery Fellowship

Neurotology and Cranial Base Surgery Fellowship

The Vanderbilt Neurotology and Cranial Base Surgery Fellowship is a two-year program designed for physicians seeking specialized training in otologic and neurotologic procedures. As one of the top-ranked and longest-running programs in the nation with a high surgical volume, the Vanderbilt Neurotology and Cranial Base Surgery Fellowship is highly sought after. One position is offered annually through the San Francisco (SF) Match Program and is an ACGME-accredited fellowship training program.

Fellows collaborate closely with Hearing and Speech faculty at the Vanderbilt Bill Wilkerson Center, which is ranked #1 by U.S. News and World Report. Our cochlear implant program is #1 in the nation in surgical volume and research. Fellows also work closely with the Department of Neurosurgery, receiving robust surgical and clinical experience in a large variety of Skull Base procedures.

  • The Vanderbilt Neurotology and Cranial Base Surgery Fellowship encompasses all aspects of adult and pediatric neurotology and otology, including:

    • Microsurgical procedures for acoustic neuroma
    • Skull base tumors
    • Paragangliomas
    • Cochlear and brainstem implants
    • All other otologic and neurotologic procedures including robotic, endoscopic, and image-guided neurotologic procedures.

    A specialized course curriculum emphasizes leadership training in the academic setting. Educational efforts also include quality initiatives, strategy, and operational improvement.

  • Applicants interested in the Vanderbilt Otology and Neurotology Fellowship must meet the following requirements:

    • Clinical education into ACGME-accredited fellowship programs must be completed in an ACGME-accredited residency program.
      • If the applicant is located in Canada, clinical education must be completed in an RCPSC-accredited or CFPC-accredited residency program. [Neurotology Program Requirements, III.A.2]
  • The Otology Group Fellowship in Neurotology has a long and storied history of producing some of the finest neurotologic surgeons in the world. The Otology Group, in association with The EAR Foundation, took its first advanced study trainee fellow, in 1975. A combination of the excellence of the program of study, the caseload available and the subsequent success of our high quality graduates very rapidly created a reputation for “The Otology Group fellowship.” The merger of the Otology Group with the Department of Otolaryngology at Vanderbilt created The Otology Group of Vanderbilt Fellowship in Neurotology in 2004. This ACGME-accredited fellowship program is well positioned to maintain its excellence in patient care, research and education training. It is particularly well positioned to produce well-trained graduates as high quality candidates for the certificate of added qualifications (CAQ) examination in neurotology administered by the American Board of Otolaryngology (ABO).

    Since its inception, The Otology Group of Vanderbilt fellowship program has trained over 60 otology/neurotology graduates. Our fellow graduates hold leadership positions in both private practice and academic practice groups as well as many national organizations including The American Otological Society, The American Neurotological Society, The Triological Society, The American Academy of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery and The Deafness Research Foundation among others. Proudly, five of our graduates have served as otolaryngology program chairmen at some of our nation’s most prestigious universities, including Johns Hopkins University. These excellent men and women enhance the contribution and service initiated by The Otology Group of Vanderbilt Fellowship and service to those afflicted by hearing and balance disorders.

  • Vanderbilt Otology and Neurotology fellows become leaders in the field, both in academic and clinical settings. Current and past fellows include:

    • 1976-1977: Montra Kanok
    • 1976-1977: Fred Drake
    • 1977-1978: C Gary Jackson
    • 1977-1978: Ronald Steenerson
    • 1978-1979: John Dickins
    • 1978-1979: Richard J Wiet
    • 1979-1980: Gordon Hughes
    • 1979-1980: Aristides Sismanis
    • 1980-1981: Samuel Whitaker
    • 1981-1982: Alan Nissen
    • 1982: Peter Smith
    • 1982-1983: Sidney Christiansen
    • 1982-1983: John Kveton
    • 1983-1984: Julianna Gulya
    • 1983-1984: Myles Pensak
    • 1984-1985: Dennis Bojrab
    • 1984-1985: Peter Roland
    • 1985-1986: Samuel Levine
    • 1986: Kevin McKennan
    • 1986-1987: Eva Dimitrov
    • 1986-1987: Michael Fritsch
    • 1987-1988: Glenn Johnson
    • 1987-1988: Dennis Poe
    • 1988-1989: D Bradley Welling
    • 1988-1989: Charles I Woods
    • 1989-1990: Britt Thedinger
    • 1989-1990: Roberto Cueva
    • 1990-1991: Michael Hart
    • 1991-1992: Barry Strasnick
    • 1992-1993: Sean McMenomey
    • 1992-1993: Lloyd B. Minor
    • 1993: David Schall
    • 1993-1994: John Macias
    • 1993-1994: Mark Widick
    • 1994: David Scott Haynes
    • 1994-1995: Pamela S Bohrer
    • 1994-1995: Ian Storper
    • 1995: Dennis Pappas Jr
    • 1995-1996: Spiros Manolidis
    • 1995-1996: Peter Von Doersten
    • 1996: Jack Shohet
    • 1996-1997: Akira Ishiyama
    • 1996-1997: Sam  Marzo
    • 1997: Matthew Hanson
    • 1997-1998: Mark Severtson
    • 1998-2000: John Forest III
    • 1998-2000: Benjamin McGrew
    • 2000: Alain Sabri
    • 2000-2002: Alexander Battaglia
    • 2001-2002: Raquel Redtfeldt
    • 2002-2004: Ward Gardner
    • 2002-2004: David Kaylie
    • 2004-2006: Frank Warren
    • 2005-2007: Marc L Bennett
    • 2006-2008: Matthew O'Malley
    • 2007-2009: Justin Wittkopf
    • 2008-2010: George Wanna
    • 2009-2011: Alejandro Rivas
    • 2010-2012: Betty Tsai
    • 2011-2013: Stanley Pelosi
    • 2012-2014: Matt Carlson
    • 2014-2016: Jacob Hunter
    • 2015-2017: Brendan O'Connell
    • 2015-2017: Alexander Sweeney
    • 2016-2018: Matthew Dedmon
    • 2017-2019: Robert Yawn
    • 2018-2020: Nauman Manzoor
    • 2019-2021: Elizabeth Perkins
    • 2020-2022: Nathan Cass
    • 2021-2023: Nathan Lindquist
    • 2022-2024: Michael Freeman

Fellowship Director:

David S. Haynes, MD, MMHC, FACS
Professor of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
Endowed Director, Relationship Development
Program Director, Neurotology Fellowship
Service Chief, Otology and Neurotology

Program Coordinator:

Office of Education