Each type of content has a list of settings both in the right side and at the below the main content area.
Published Here you will be able to save a revision of the page with details of what you changed. This can be helpful if you need to revert the page back to a previous version.
Menu Settings You will probably want most (if not all) of the pages you create to appear in your menu. Using the Menu Settings here, you can specify where in your site’s navigation this page should appear, and also how it should be titled. Notice that all of your existing menu items appear in the Parent Item dropdown. Using this dropdown, you can nest your page under other existing menu items.
URL Alias Each page you create will automatically be assigned a web address based on the title of the page. By unchecking Generate Automatic URL Alias you can specify a custom address.
Authoring Information This allows you to set the author and authored date for each content element.
Promotion Options If the page you are editing is a blog post or publication this will allow you to add the post to the top of a blog list or publication list.
Collapsible Content Sections These act as expandable content areas for the page you are building. This is a great way to have a Question and Answer section or a brief Definitions sections.
Blocks Here you can specify which blocks should appear on your page and the order they should appear. The Section Menu will be enabled by default, but will only appear if there are relevant links to display in it (see the definition of Menu under Key Definitions). You can create additional blocks (such as a text block, a slideshow block, or an RSS feed) by selecting Create and Edit Blocks in the black administrative toolbar.
Access Control Occasionally, you may wish to limit access to a page to only those within Vanderbilt. When someone visits an access-controlled page, they will be asked to log in with their VUNetID and ePassword.
Page Status If you are creating a page but not quite ready for the world to see it, you can mark it as unpublished. You’ll still see the page in the navigation so you can continue to work on it, but other visitors to your site will not. It is not ideal to suddenly unpublish a page that has been around for a long time just to work on it since users trying to access that page (by a bookmark or having found it on Google) will be presented with a “Page not found” error.