David J. "D.J." Kennedy, MD

Professor and Chair, Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Office Address
Vanderbilt Stallworth Rehabilitation Hospital
2201 Children's Way
Suite 1318
(615) 322-0738
(615) 322-7454

Make an Appointment 

D.J. Kennedy, M.D. is a Professor and the Chair of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at Vanderbilt University Medical Center where his practice focuses on non-operative and interventional pain medicine. He completed his residency in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at the University of Washington in Seattle where he served as Chief Resident, and then a Spine and Sports Fellowship at the Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago (now Shirley Ryan Ability Lab).

His research has focused on the safety and efficacy of interventional procedures. He has pioneered safe injection techniques and is an internationally recognized expert in interventional spine procedures. He has been the recipient of numerous research grants, and has published over 100 journal articles, over 80 published abstracts, and over 20 book chapters. As a spine researcher, he has had publications in the New England Journal of Medicine, and the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA). He has also won multiple research awards from The Spine Journal, the Spine Intervention Society (SIS), and the North American Spine Society (NASS).

Additionally, he is a renowned lecturer and teacher who has given over 100 lectures at national meetings, over 50 lectures at international meetings, and numerous local presentations and invited grand rounds. He has also won multiple teaching awards, including teacher of the year from Stanford University and the University of Florida. He is currently a Deputy Editor for The Spine Journal and a Senior Editor for Interventional Pain Medicine. He is on the Board of Directors for the American Academy of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation (AAPM&R) where he serves as the President Elect. He is also the current President for the Spine Intervention Society and a member of the NASS Board of Directors as the chair the Clinical Guidelines Committee.