Maintenance of Certification (MOC)

Vanderbilt University Medical Center is certified by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) as a Multi-Specialty Portfolio Program. This certification allows the VUMC Office for Continuous Professional Development to support physician efforts to improve patient care through process improvement activities. 

Maintenance of Certification (MOC), also known as Continuing or Continuous Certification, is the process by which a physician who has initially become board certified in the specialty practice of their choice maintains their board certification status. The ABMS Program for MOC involves the ongoing measurement of six core competencies defined by ABMS and the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME): 

  • Practice-Based Learning and Improvement 
  • Patient Care and Procedural Skills 
  • Systems-Based Practice 
  • Medical Knowledge 
  • Interpersonal and Communication Skills 
  • Professionalism 

The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) has collaborated with some of the member boards of the ABMS to facilitate the integration of accredited Continuing Medical Education (CME) and MOC. Accredited Continuing Education (CE) activities may be registered for MOC credit for: 

  • Part II: Lifelong Learning and/or Self-Assessment
  • Part IV: Improvement in Medical Practice

Some boards have a requirement to engage in education related to patient safety issues, and those boards allow accredited CME activities to be registered for Patient Safety credit.

For more information on our MOC programs, please follow the links below.





American Board of Surgery

Lifelong Learning/Self-Assessment

Improvement in Medical Practice

Continuous Certification Update