Radioactive Drug Research Committee

Vanderbilt Human Research Protection Program
Radioactive Drug Research Committee – Institutional Review Board
FDA Registration Number – RDRC013

The RDRC Committee meets the first Friday of every quarter at 10:00AM. Meeting locations are subject to change. Please call the VHRPP office to confirm meeting location (322-2918).

Effective – July 15, 2021


Eric Shinohara, MD - Chair

Gary Smith, MD - Vice-Chair

Mary Ann Keenan, DMP

Marni Gardner, DPh

David Pickens, PhD


Nuclear Medicine

Radiology and Radiological Sciences

Nuclear Pharmacy

Radiology and Radiological Sciences


Bapsi Chakravarthy, M.D. Radiation Oncology
Chirayu Shah, M.D. Nuclear Medicine
Joe Harper, PharmD, Nuclear Pharmacist

Vanderbilt’s Radioactive Drug Research Committee (RDRC) is authorized by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) to approve research projects involving the use of certain “non-approved” radioactive drugs for pre-Phase 1 research which would otherwise require approval from the FDA in the form of an Investigational New Drug (IND). Use the RDRC application form embedded in the IRB application and guidelines to submit proposals to the RDRC. If you need help in completing and RDRC application and/or estimating the radiation dose, contact the IRB to have the Radiation Dose Calculation Member of the RDRC assist you.

For a list of radiation doses, or examples of risk statements, please go to the Radiation Dose Calculator.