Vanderbilt Human Research Protection Program
Health Sciences Committee 1 – Institutional Review Board
OHRP Registration Identification – IRB00000475

The Health Sciences Committee 1 meets every Thursday of the month at 11:00AM. Meeting locations are subject to change. Please call the VHRPP office to confirm meeting location (322-2918).

Effective – August 13, 2020


Michael O'Connor, MD - Chair

Wade Iams MD - Vice Chair

Harvey Murff, MD, MPH

Jennifer Bounds

Mistey Cook, BS

Shelia V. Kusnoor, PhD

James Wilkinson, MD, MPH

Elizabeth Card, MSN, FNP

Andrew Johnson, MD

Jo Wilson, MD, MPH


Pediatric Pulmonology

Hematology, Oncology

Internal Medicine

Homemaker, Community Member (NS)

Public Relations, Community Member (NS)

Neuroscience, Health Knowledge Information


Cardiology, Nursing

Emergency Medicine

Psychiatry, Epidemiology


Alexander Agthe, MD, PhD Neonatology
Mallory Blasingame, MA Information Science
Rameela Chandrasekhar, PhD Biostatistics
Deepa Chandrasekaran, OD, MS Optometry
Naweed Chowdhury, M.D., Otolaryngology
Ciaran Considine, PhD, Neurology, Cognitive Disorders
Hernan Correa, MD Pediatric Pathology
Elizabeth Davis, MD Medical Oncology
Manus Donahue, PhD Neurology
Stephany Duda, Ph.D Biomedical Informatics
William Grisson, PhD, Biomedical Engineering
Candace Floyd Editor/Writer, Community Member (NS)
Zachary Fox, MSIS Library and Information Science
ELizabeth Harris, Prisoner Representative (NS)
Brenton Harrison, BBA Insurance, Community Member (NS)
Jonathan Hiskey, Ph.D. Political Science
Benjamin Hornsby, PhD Hearing and Speech Sciences
Chris Hughes, MD Anesthesiology
James Jackson, PsyD Psychology, Health Services Research
Lani A. Kajihara-Liehr, M.S.N., F.N.P. Pediatric Nursing
Mary E. Keebler, M.D. Cardiology/Cardiovascular Disease
David Kent, M.D., Otolaryngology
Christine Konradi, PhD Pharmacology
Taneya Koonce, MSLS, MPH Information Sciences/Public Health
Anna Lopez Homemaker, Prisoner Representative (NS)
Burl Johnson, BS, Law Enforcement, Community Member (NS)
Sanjay Mohan, M.D. Hematology/Oncology
James A.S. Muldowney, M.D. Cardiovascular Medicine
Jeremy Neal, PhD, CNM, RN Nursing
Olalekan Oluwole, M.D. Hematology/Oncology
Neeraja Peterson, M.D. Internal Medicine
Carolyn Rambo Business, German, Community Member
Todd Rice, MD, MSc Pulmonary/Critical Care
G. Kyle Rybczyk, R.N.C., F.N.P. Infectious Diseases, Nursing
Megan M. Saylor, Ph.D. Psychology and Human Development
Cynthia Seifert, M.Div. Divinity, Community Member (NS)
David Schlundt, PhD Behavioral Medicine and Health
Megan Simmons, DNP Geriatric Mental Health, Nursing
Jason Slagel, Ph.D. Human Factors/Psychology
Kimberly Towers, B.S. Law Enforcement, Community Member (NS)
Kate VonWahlde, MS, Clinical Trials Management
Emmanuel Volanakis, M.D. Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
Mary Kay Washington, M.D. Surgical Pathology/Oncology
Hendrik Weitkamp, M.D. Neonatology/Pediatric Infectious Disease
Annette Williams, MLIS Library and Information Sciences
Saralyn Williams, MD Toxicology/Pediatric Emergency Medicine