Health Sciences Committee #3

Vanderbilt Human Research Protection Program
Health Sciences Committee 3 – Institutional Review Board
OHRP Registration Identification – IRB00002125


The Health Sciences Committee 3 meets every Tuesday of the month at 11:00AM. Meeting
locations are subject to change. Please call the VHRPP office to confirm meeting location (322-2918).

Effective – February 1, 2022


Neeraja Peterson, MD - Chair

Kay Washington, MD, PhD - Vice Chair

Emmanuel Volanakis, MD

Amy Weitlauf, PhD

Annette Vannilam, MD

Naweed Chowdhury, MD

Carolyn Rambo, BA

Burl Johnson, BA

Megan Simmons, DNP, PMHNP-BC

Joshua Lawrenz, MD

Internal Medicine


Pediatric Hematology, Oncology

Pediatric Psychology/Autism

Pediatric Gastroenterology


Business, German, Community Member (NS)

Law Enforcement, Community Member (NS)

Geriatric Nursing, Mental Health

Musculoskeletal Oncology



  • Mallory Blasingame, MA Information Science
    Jennifer Bounds, Homemaker, Community Member(NS)
    Elizabeth Card, RNC, FNP Cardiology, Nursing
    Mistey Cook, B.S. Public Relations, Community Member (NS)
    Hernan Correa, MD Pediatric Pathology
    Elizabeth Davis, M.D. Medical Oncology
    Manus Donahue, PhD Neurology
    Stephany Duda, PhD Biomedical Informatics
    Paul Brent Ferrell M.D. Hematology/Oncology(NS)
    Will Grissom, PhD, Biomedical Engineering
    Elizabeth Harris, Prisoner Representative (NS)
    Brenton Harrison, BBA Insurance, Community Member (NS)
    Jonathan Hiskey, Ph.D. Political Science
    Benjamin Hornsby, PhD Hearing and Speech Sciences
    Chris Hughes, M.D. Anesthesiology/Critical Care
    James C. Jackson, Psy.D. Clinical Psychology/Health Services Research
    Andrew Johnson, MD Emergency Medicine
    Lani A. Kajihara-Liehr, M.S.N, F.N.P. Pediatric Nursing
    David Kent, M.D. Otolaryngology
    Christine Konradi, PhD Pharmacology
    Taneya Koonce, MSLS, MPH Information Sciences/Public Health
    Shelia V. Kusnoor, Ph.D. Neuroscience, Health Knowledge Information
    Jennifer Ledford, PhD, Special Education
    Anna Lopez, Homemaker – Prisoner Representative
    Sanjay Mohan, M.D. Hematology/Oncology
    Harvey J. Murff, M.D., MPH Internal Medicine
    Jeremy Neal, PhD, CNM, RN Geriatric Nursing
    Michael O’Connor, M.D. Pediatric Pulmonology
    Megan M. Saylor, Ph.D. Psychology and Human Development
    Jason Slagel, PhD Human Factors/Psychology
    Kimberly Towers, B.S. Law Enforcement, Community Member (NS)
    Kate VonWahlde, M.S. Clinical Trials Management
    Mary Kay Washington, MD Surgical Pathology, Oncology
    Hendrik Weitkamp, M.D. Neonatology/Pediatric Infectious Disease
    James Wilkinson, MD, MPH Pediatrics
    Annette Williams, MLIS Library and Information Sciences
    Saralyn Williams, M.D. Clinical Toxicology/Emergency Medicine
    Jo Wilson, MD, MPH Psychiatry/Epidemiology