Our DAISY Award Recipients


The DAISY (Diseases Attacking the Immune System) Award is an international recognition program that honors and celebrates the skillful, compassionate care nurses provide every day. The DAISY Foundation was established by the family of J. Patrick Barnes after he died from complications of the auto-immune disease ITP in 1999. During his hospitalization, they deeply appreciated the care and compassion shown to Patrick and his entire family. When he died, they felt compelled to say "thank you" to nurses in a very public way.

Please say thank you by sharing your story of how a nurse made a difference you will never forget!  Share your story.

Monroe Carell Jr. Children's Hospital at Vanderbilt recipients (click on dates for complete list of recipients):

Winter 2022
•  Sarah Kelly, BSN, RN, Pediatric Intensive Care Unit

Fall 2021
•  Tyler Eads, BSN, RN, Pediatric Intensive Care Unit

Summer 2021
•  Regina Copeland, RN, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit

Spring 2021
•  Hannah Martin, RN, Pediatric Surgery, Trauma, Adolescent Medicine

Winter 2021
•  Crystal Bojniewicz, RN, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU)

Fall 2020
•  Sarah Goodsell, BSN, RN, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU)

Summer 2020
•  Jordan Smith, BSN, RN, Eighth Floor Pod A, MRB IV

Spring 2020
•  Sarah Tolan, BSN, RN, Pediatric Cardiac Intensive Care Unit (PCICU)

Winter 2019
•  Kaitlyn Henderson, RN, Pediatric Intensive Care Unit (PICU)

Fall 2019
•  Sara Anderson, RN, Float Pool

Summer 2019
•  Mary Hannah Baker, BSN, RN, Pediatric Cardiology (PCARD)

Spring 2019
•  Ashlyn Miniat, BSN, RN, TNCC, Pediatric Intensive Care Unit (PICU)

Winter 2018 
•  Tamera Hawkins, RN, LCCE, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU)