Due to unforeseen circumstances, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Department of Nursing Education and Professional Development will not accept new CNE application requests for events during 12/31/2021 - 3/31/2022.  Existing CNE applications will be honored.

Applications for 2022 events can be submitted, but will not be processed until 4/1/2022.

For alternative options to apply for CNE, please visit the following website:

We apologize for any inconvenience that this may cause. For any questions or concerns, please reach out to contacthours@vumc.org 


The Department of Nursing Education and Professional Development is accredited as a provider by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation. Our provider unit is made up of an Accredited Provider Program Director, a Program Manager, and several Nurse Planners.


It is our goal to facilitate the advancement of nursing practice through the dissemination of knowledge through continuing education programs with contact hours that meet the criteria set forth by the American Nurse's Credentialing Center (ANCC). We also aim to support nurses to maintain and improve knowledge and skills of professional practice and provide professional development activities that meet nurses' educational needs in alignment with organizational goals and priorities. For additional questions please contact Kerry Copeland, Accredited Provider Program Director, or Kryslynn Lewis, Program Manager, at contact.hours@vumc.org.

The Contact Hour Team

Accredited Provider Program Director: Kerry Copeland, MSN, RN, CNRN, CRRN, NPD-BC

Program Manager: Kryslynn Lewis, MBA

Nurse Planners:

Jim Cuvelier, BSN, RN

Kelly Ernst, MSN, RN

Tessa Horst, MSN, RN

Susan (Bosworth) Smith, MSN, RN, NPD-BC, FNP

Gloria Wacks, PhD, RN

Johnny Woodard, MSN, RN-BC

Accreditation Statement: Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nursing Education and Professional Development is accredited as a provider of nursing continuing professional development by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.