James Crowe, M.D.

Vanderbilt Vaccine Center
Pediatrics and Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology
Ann Scott Carell Chair

Global Health Topic(s): Ebola Virus Disease (EVD), Infectious Diseases, Vaccines

Research Interests: Human monoclonal antibodies for infectious diseases 

Country(ies): United States of America, Uganda


Dr. Crowe is an immunologist and board-certified pediatric infectious diseases specialist. He is Professor of Pediatrics, Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology, Ann Scott Carell Chair, and Director of the Vanderbilt Vaccine Center. His laboratory has a broad portfolio of work in the area of viral immunology, with an aim to discovery of mechanisms important to development of new vaccines.

Dr. Crowe received his M.D. degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where he also completed his pediatrics residency. Following his clinical training, he received five years of post-doctoral training in the Laboratory of Infectious Diseases at the NIH. He completed infectious diseases fellowship training in 1996 at Vanderbilt and has run an independent laboratory at Vanderbilt since that time.

In addition, Dr. Crowe directs two institutional core laboratories: the Human Immunology Core and the Flow Cytometry and Cell Sorting Core. His work has been published in over 180 publications in high-quality journals including Cell, Nature, Science, Nature Medicine, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences USA, the New England Journal of Medicine, and JAMA.

Dr. Crowe has been the recipient of investigator awards from the March of Dimes, American Society for Microbiology, Pediatric Infectious Diseases Society, and Society for Pediatric Research. He has been awarded the Judson Infectious Daland Prize of the American Philosophical Society, the Oswald Avery Award of the IDSA, the E. Mead Johnson Award for Excellence in Pediatrics, the 2007 Outstanding Investigator Award of the American Federation for Medical Research, and the 2010 Norman J. Siegel Award of the American Pediatric Society. He is an elected Fellow of AAM, AAAS, ASCI and AAP, IDSA, APS, and others. He was elected to the National Academy of Medicine in 2014.


M.D., University of North Carolina

Research Information