Executive Committee:


Principal Investigator (PI)

Kripalani1.jpgSunil Kripalani, MD, MSc, Associate Professor of Medicine
Dr. Kripalani is founding Director of the Center for Clinical Quality and Implementation Research and Co-Director of the Center for Effective Health Communication. For over 15 years, Dr. Kripalani has led the development, implementation, and evaluation of interventions in real-world settings, primarily among patients with cardiovascular conditions (acute coronary syndromes, heart failure, and coronary heart disease). Dr. Kripalani’s research has focused on improving health communication, medication management, and transitions of care to reduce adverse drug events and hospital readmission. He has expertise in development and implementation of evidence-based toolkits, assessment of social determinants of health and patient-reported outcomes, implementation and evaluation of high-value care initiatives, and performance of pragmatic clinical trials.




Program Director (PD)

Roumie.jpgChristianne Roumie, MD, MPH, Associate Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics
Dr. Roumie is the Epidemiology track director within the MPH program at Vanderbilt and the Deputy Director of the VA Quality Scholars Program at Nashville. She is a standing member of the Food and Drug Administration's Nonprescription Drugs Advisory Committee (NDAC) and serves as chairwoman. Dr. Roumie's research portfolio evaluates appropriate medication utilization as a barrier to optimal patient outcomes and as risk factors for cardiovascular disease. Additionally, her research programs on comparative effectiveness research explore ways to improve health outcomes by developing evidence-based information for patients, clinicians, and decision-makers about the most effective interventions for patients. 




Dittus1.jpgRobert Dittus, MD, MPH, Albert and Bernard Werthan Professor of Medicine
Dr. Dittus is the Executive Vice President for Public Health and Health Care at Vanderbilt University Medical Center; Director of the Institute for Medicine and Public Health; Senior Associate Dean for Population Health Sciences; and Director of the VA Quality Scholars Program. He has trained over 100 fellows, received the Distinguished Educator Award from the Association for Clinical and Translational Science, served on the Board and as President of the Association for Clinical Research Training, and is currently a member of the AHRQ National Advisory Committee. With a scientific background in industrial engineering, epidemiology, and clinical medicine, he has longstanding experience in implementation science and was a member of the first Institute of Medicine committee on health care engineering.




talbot.pngThomas Talbot, MD, MPH, Professor of Medicine and Health Policy
Dr. Talbot is the Chief Hospital Epidemiologist for Vanderbilt University Medical Center and has numerous years of experience in adapting, implementing, and sustaining evidence-based practices to improve the quality and safety of patient care. Dr. Talbot is a recognized expert in the field of healthcare epidemiology and infection control, as he currently serves as a member of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Healthcare Infection Control Practices Advisory Committee (HICPAC) and recently served on the Board of Directors for the Society for Healthcare Epidemiology of America (SHEA). As a part of his role as the Chief Hospital Epidemiologist, he oversees the surveillance of hospital-acquired infections, the development of education for staff and physicians, and the implementation of quality improvement interventions designed to reduce the incidence of hospital-acquired infections at Vanderbilt.



Limper_Heathercopy.jpgHeather Limper, PhD, MPH, Research Assistant Professor of Medicine
Dr. Limper is Associate Director of the Implementation Science Core and Director of Evaluation for the MidSouth Practice Transformation Network, a $28 million CMS-funded initiative supporting over 100 clinical practices through transformation to value-based care. She has pragmatic experience in developing, implementing, and evaluating initiatives designed to improve health care delivery in both hospital and community settings. Dr. Limper is the Course Director for the new Measurement in Improvement Science course, part of Vanderbilt's MPH program, and leads the Center for Clinical Quality & Implementation Sciences' Scholarly Series -- an educational program designed to promote scholarship and collaboration among faculty, staff, and community implementors around implementation science. 



Internal Advisory Committee:

Gordon Bernard, MD (Chair)
Melinda Owen Bass Professor of Medicine
Executive Vice President for Research
Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Science

Nancy Brown, MD 
Hugh J. Morgan Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology  
Chair and Physician-in-Chief, Department of Medicine

André Churchwell, MD 
Professor of Medicine (Cardiology)
Professor of Radiology and Radiological Sciences
Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Chief Diversity Officer

Katherine Hartmann, MD, PhD
Lucius E. Burch Chair of Reproductive Physiology and Family Planning 
Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Professor of Medicine
Associate Dean for Clinical and Translational Scientist Development

Gerald Hickson, MD 
Joseph C. Ross Chair of Medical Education and Administration
Professor of Pediatrics
Senior Vice President for Quality, Safety, and Risk Prevention

Kevin Johnson, MD, MS
Cornelius Vanderbilt Professor and Chair, Department of Biomedical Informatics
Professor of Pediatrics
Senior Vice President of Health Information Technology

David Posch, MS
Executive Vice President for Population Health, Vanderbilt Health Affiliated Network
immediate past CEO, Vanderbilt University Hospital and Clinics

External Advisory Committee:

Ross Brownson, PhD
Bernard Becker Professor of Public Health
Washington University
PI of “Mentored Training for Dissemination and Implementation Research in Cancer [MT-DIRC]”

Jonathan Perlin, MD, PhD, MSHA 
President, Clinical Services and Chief Medical Officer
Hospital Corporation of America

Rose Marie Robertson, MD
Chief Science and Medical Officer 
American Heart Association

Wally Smith, MD
Professor of Medicine
Director Program in Sickle Cell Disease
Director Center for Health Disparities
Virginia Commonwealth University