Vanderbilt University Medical Center and Vanderbilt Institute for Global Health are committed to supporting healthcare providers in low- and middle-income countries during the global COVID-19 pandemic through education. In partnership with Assist International and Project ECHO, we are offering a tele-education series that will provide remote training and a platform for discussion and the sharing of best practices for healthcare providers caring for COVID patients in low-resource settings. The sessions are open to all and will be live-streamed via a video-conferencing platform. Recordings will also be available following the sessions. Details for upcoming sessions, including registration links can be found below.

To receive email notifications for upcoming sessions, please write to us here and request to be added to our COVID-19 Tele-Education Series list. Please add "Subscribe to COVID-19 Tele-Education Series" to the subject line.

RECORDED SESSIONS

Recording Link 

Instructors:

Pierre Massion, MD
Professor of Medicine, Allergy, Pulmonary, and Critical Care Medicine
Cornelius Vanderbilt Chair in Medicine
Professor of Radiology and Radiological Sciences 
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Tewodros Haile Gebremariam, MD
Head of Department, Internal Medicine
Consultant in Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
Addis Ababa University

 

Recording Link

Instructors:

Joseph Schlesinger, MD
Associate Professor, Anesthesiology
Division of Critical Care, Multi-speciality Adult Anesthesiology,
and Neuroanesthesiology
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Priscilla Hirst, MD, MSc
Internal Medicine
Montefiore Health System, New Rochelle, New York

Recording Link

Instructors:

Kyle Bruns, MD, Clinical Fellow, Anesthesiology
Division of Critical Care 
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Kaitlyn Brennan, MD
Clinical Fellow, Anesthesiology
Division of Critical Care
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Arna Banerjee, MBBS
Associate Professor of Anesthesiology
Surgery, and Medical Education,
Critical Care Medicine
Multi-Specialty Adult Anesthesiology
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Kimberly Rengel, MD
Assistant Professor
Anesthesiology
Division of Critical Care
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

 

Recording Link

Instructors:

Henry Okafor, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine, Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Bantayehu Sileshi, MD
Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology
Division of Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Recording Link 

Instructors:


Instructors:

Mark Newton, MD
Professor of  Anesthesiology
Division of Pediatrics
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Christopher Chanda, MD
National Coordinator
Anesthesia Services 
Ministry of Health Zambia
Consultant Pediatric Anesthesiologist
Head Anesthesiology and Critical Care
University Teaching Hospitals of Zambia

Saeedah Asaf, MBBS
Associate Professor and Head of The Department of Anesthesia
The Children's Hospital & Institute of Child Health, Lahore, Pakistan
and Assistant Professor, Arkansas Children's Hospital

Recording Link

Instructors:

Laura Houston, MD/MSCR
Assistant Professor
Obstetrics/Gynecology
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

James Carlucci, MD, MPH
Instructor, Pediatric Infectious Disease
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Christopher Sizemore, DO
Assistant Professor
Obstetrics/Gynecology
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Recording Link

Instructors:

Yuri van der Heijden, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Division of Infectious Diseases
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

David Aronoff, MD
Director, Division of Infectious Diseases
Addison B. Scoville Jr. Chair in Medicine
Professor of Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology
Professor of Medicine

Karen Bloch, MD, MPH, FIDSA
Associate Professor of Health Policy and Medicine
Division of Infectious Diseases
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Mental Health Consequences of COVID-19

Friday | May 29, 2020


Asia Session
REGISTER

8:00 a.m. ICT (Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, Vietnam)
9:00 a.m. PHT (Philippines) & MYT (Malaysia)

(Thursday, May 28 in U.S.)
8:00 p.m. CDT (US Central)
9:00 p.m. EDT (US Eastern)


Africa Session
REGISTER

7:00 a.m. CDT (US Central)
8:00 a.m. EDT (US Eastern)
12:00 noon GMT
1:00 p,m, WAT (West African Standard)
2:00 p.m. CAT (Central Africa) & SAST (South Africa)
3:00 p.m. EAT (East Africa)


Instructors:

Jeffrey G. Stovall, MD
Associate Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Vanderbilt University Medical Center