Leadership at the Institute

Groundbreaking collaborations start “when intelligent people are asked to do a demanding but worthy task and given the freedom and tools to do it.”  – Warren Bennis, Organizing Genius

The Institute is directed by:
Robert S. Dittus, M.D., M.P.H.
Director, Institute for Medicine and Public Health
Associate Vice Chancellor for Public Health and Health Care
Senior Associate Dean for Population Health Sciences
Director, Geriatric Research, Education, and Clinical Center (GRECC)
Director, Quality Scholars Program 
Director, Institute for Community Health
Director, Center for Improving Patient Safety
Medical Center East, Suite 6000
Phone: 615.322.7916
Email: robert.dittus@vanderbilt.edu

Katherine E. Hartmann, M.D., Ph.D. 
Deputy Director, Institute for Medicine and Public Health
Associate Dean, Clinical and Translational Scientist Development 
Director, Vanderbilt Evidence-based Practice Center
Director, Women’s Health Research at Vanderbilt 
2525 West End Avenue, Suite 600
Phone: 615.936.8320
Email: katherine.hartmann@vanderbilt.edu

Our community of researchers spans over twenty affiliated centers and programs whose leadership makes the work of the Institute possible. They include:

Shari Barkin, M.D., M.S.H.S.
Child and Adolescent Health Services Research Program
8246 Doctor´s Office Tower, Vanderbilt Children´s Hospital 
Phone: 615.936.8066
Email: shari.barkin@vanderbilt.edu

Keith G. Meador, M.D., Th.M., MPH 
Center for Biomedical Ethics and Society 
2525 West End Avenue, Suite 400
Phone: 615.936.6826
Email: keith.meador@vanderbilt.edu 

William Cooper, M.D., M.P.H.
Vanderbilt Master´s in Public Health Program 
Division of General Pediatrics
Suite 313 Oxford House
Phone: 615.936.2430
Email: william.cooper@vanderbilt.edu

Charlene M. Dewey, M.D., M.Ed., F.A.C.P. 
Center for Professional Health
 
 1107 Oxford House
Phone: 615.936.0678
Email: cph@vanderbilt.edu 

Johnathan Metzl, Ph.D.
Center for Medicine, Health, and Society 
220 Garland Hall
Phone: 615.343.0916
Email: johnathan.metzl@vanderbilt.edu

Tom A. Elasy, M.D., M.P.H.
Diabetes Research and Training Center 
8210 Medical Center East 
Phone: 615.936.7772 
Email: tom.elasy@vanderbilt.edu

E. Wesley Ely, M.D., M.P.H.
T32 Health Services Research Training Program
6109 Medical Center East
Phone: 615.936.3395
Email: wes.ely@vanderbilt.edu

Marie R. Griffin, M.D., M.P.H.
Developing Evidence to Inform Decisions about Effectiveness
Center for Education and Research in Therapeutics 
T32 Health Services Research Training Program
Village at Vanderbilt, Suite 2600 
Phone: 615.343.6338  
Email: marie.griffin@vanderbilt.edu  

Tina Hartert, M.D., M.P.H.
Center for Asthma and Environmental Sciences Research 
T-1218 Medical Center North
Phone: 615.936.3412
Email: tina.hartert@vanderbilt.edu 

Yvonne Joosten, M.P.H.
Office for Community Engagement
Community Engaged Research Program 
2525 West End Avenue, Suite 600
Phone: 615.936.5620
Email: yvonne.joosten@vanderbilt.edu 

David Penson, M.D., M.P.H.
Center for Surgical Quality and Outcomes Research 
2525 West End Avenue, Suite 600
Phone: 615.936.8322
Email: david.penson@vanderbilt.edu

Wayne Ray, Ph.D.
Vanderbilt Master´s in Public Health Program 
Village at Vanderbilt, Suite 2600
Phone: 615.343.6338
Email: wayne.ray@vanderbilt.edu

Russell Rothman, M.D., M.P.P.
Program on Effective Health Communication 
Center for Health Services Research 
6000 Medical Center East
Phone: 615.343.7584
Email: russell.rothman@vanderbilt.edu

John F. Schnelle, Ph.D.
Center for Quality Aging 
S-1121 Medical Center North
Phone: 615.343.6580
Email: john.schnelle@vanderbilt.edu

Ted Speroff, Ph.D.
Center for Patient Healthcare Behavior
VA Tennessee Valley Healthcare System, 4th floor
Phone: 615.873.6057 (VA office)
Email: ted.speroff@vanderbilt.edu;ted.speroff@va.gov 

William Swiggart, M.S., L.P.C.
Center for Professional Health 
1107 Oxford House
Phone: 615.936.0678
Email: cph@vanderbilt.edu

Sten H. Vermund, M.D., Ph.D.
Vanderbilt Institute for Global Health 
2525 West End Avenue, Ste. 750
Phone: 615.322.9374
Email: Jennifer.stclair@vanderbilt.edu

Matthew B. Weinger, M.D.
Center for Perioperative Research in Quality
732 Medical Arts Building
Phone: 615.936.6598
Email: matt.weinger@vanderbilt.edu

Wei Zheng, M.D., Ph.D.
Vanderbilt Epidemiology Center 
2525 West End Ave, 8th floor
Phone: 615.936.0682
Email: wei.zheng@vanderbilt.edu