Five Pillar Leader Award Winners

Five Pillar Leader Award Purpose - to recognize exceptional leaders who consistently model a balanced approach to leadership across the five pillars of excellence and the Credo. These leaders sustain a focus on people, service, quality, innovation, growth and finance that supports Vanderbilt University Medical Centers service and operational excellence.

August 2023 - Gaye Smith, Chief Administrative Officer for the Center for Health Information Management, VUMC Privacy Official

February 2023 - Alicia Grubbs, MSN, RN, NE-BC, Nurse Manager, Adult Emergency Department: C-Pod, Transitional Care Unit, Vanderbilt University Adult Hospital

November 2022 - Lori Rolando, MD, MPH, FACOEM, Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine, Director, Occupational Health Clinic

August 2022 - Terri Brady, RN, BSN, MBA, Senior Director of Network Development and Pediatrics, Vanderbilt Health Affiliated Network

May 2022 - Lou Kaelin, MSN, RN, NE-BC, Clinical Manager, Cardiology Outpatient

February 2022 - Brent Moseng, MBA, Executive Director, HealthIT

November 2021 - Chad Fitzgerald, JD, Chief Regulatory Officer, Vice President of Health System Emergency Operations, Vanderbilt University Medical Center

August 2021 - Kyla Terhune, MD, MBA, FACS, Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education, Associate Professor of Surgery and Anesthesiology, Vice President for Educational Affairs, ACGME/NRMP Designated Institutional Officer

May 2021 - Alex Jahangir, MD, MMHC, FACS, Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, Director Division of Orthopaedic Trauma

February 2021 - Kim Isenberg, RN, MSN, APRN, CPNP-PC/AC, NE-BC, Manager of Advanced Practice, Pediatric Perioperative, Surgical and Sedation Services, Monroe Carell Jr. Children's Hospital at Vanderbilt

October 2020 - Heather Jackson, PhD, APRN, FNP-BC, NEA-BC, Administrative Director, Advanced Practice, Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center

August 2020 - Kristy Sinkfield, M.Ed. Director, Strategy Development, Office of Strategy and Innovation

February 2020 - Molly Knostman, Pharm.D., Director, Inpatient Operations, Pharmacy 

November 2019 - Lane Stiles, M.A., Director, Patient Education

August 2019 - Del Ray Zimmerman, Director, Office for Diversity Affairs and LGBTQ Health

June 2019 - Lana Howard, BSN, RN, CCRP, Manager, Patient Care Services, VICTR Clinical Research Center

November 2018 - Rob Hood, MD, Medical Director, Office of Outpatient Referral Assistance (OORA)

August 2018 - Bart Magowan, RN, BSN, OCN, Manager, Patient Care Services, Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center Satellite Clinics 

May 2018 - Kathy Moss, MSN, MBA, RN, NEA-BC, Administrative Director, Nursing, Pediatric Medical Clinics, Wound Ostomy, Respiratory Care, and Special Projects, Monroe Carell Jr. Children's Hospital at Vanderbilt

February 2018 - Elizabeth Humphreys, PharmD, MMHC, Director of Pharmacy, Monroe Carell Jr. Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt

December 2017 - Sarah Moore, MBA, CNMT, RT (CT), Director, Radiology

August 2017 - Michael Garrett, BS, Director, Office of Patient Relations and Facilitated Patient Services

February 2017 - Sandy Bledsoe, ARM, CPHRM, Vice President, Risk Management

November 2016 - Jim Hayman, MS, MBA, FASHP, Chief Pharmacy Officer, Vanderbilt University Medical Center

August 2016 - Barbara Shultz, RN, MSN, BSN, NEA-BC, Administrative Director of Surgical Services, Monroe Carell Jr. Children's Hospital at Vanderbilt

May 2016 - Aaron Hirsch, MSN, RN, NE-BC, Manager, Patient Care Services, 9 North Surgical Stepdown & 9 South Urology, Surgical Patient Care Center

February 2016 - Terrell Smith, MSN, RN, Director Patient and Family Engagement

November 2015 - Arthur Wheeler, MD, Professor of Medicine, Allergy, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine

August 2015 - Carol Eck, RN, MBA, Associate Nursing Officer, Cancer Patient Care Center

May 2015 - Cynthia Biggers, BBA, Manager, Children's Hospital Primary Care Clinic

February 2015 - Mike McConnell, MHA, Associate Director - VUMC Finance, Monroe Carell Jr. Children's Hospital at Vanderbilt

December 2014 - Nancy Lorenzi, PhD, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs, Professor, Department of Biomedical Informatics, School of Medicine, Clinical Professor, School of Nursing

September 2014 - Steve Huffines, Pharm.D., Director of Pharmacy Business Services, Pharmacy Administration

June 2014 - Beverly A. Conner, MBA, CMPE, Executive Director of Business Services, Department of Medicine

March 2014 - Neal Patel, MD, MPH, Chief Medical Informatics Officer, Professor of Clinical Pediatrics, Division of Pediatric Critical Care

December 2013 - Damon Michaels, CCRP, Director, Clinical Trials Research, Anesthesiology - Administrative Division

September 2013 - Titus L. Daniels, MD, MPH, MMHC, Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs, Department of Medicine

June 2013 - Candy Stefansic, Nurse Manager, Pediatric Hematology/Oncology Infusion and Pulmonary/ Nephrology Clinics, Monroe Carell Jr. Childrens Hospital at Vanderbilt Outpatient Care

March 2013 - Nancye Feistritzer, Associate Hospital Director, Hospital Administration, Vanderbilt University Hospital

December 2012 - Mavis Schorn, Associate Professor, Assistant Dean for Academics, Vanderbilt University School of Nursing

September 2012 - Danny Bonn, Administrative Director, VMG Administration, HITECH/Meaningful Use

June 2012 - Freddie Easley, Assistant Director, Finance and Administration, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

February 2012 - Bruce Beyer, MD, Assistant Professor, Medical Director, Center for Women's Health at One Hundred Oaks

December 2011 - Joann Jenkins, Assistant Director, Appeals and Refunds, VMG Business Office

September 2011 - Nancy Proctor, Director, Information Systems, Chief Information Officer, Vanderbilt University Hospital and Monroe Carell Jr. Children's Hospital at Vanderbilt

June 2011 - Jenny Slayton, Administrative Director, Performance Management and Improvement, Children's Services Administration

March 2011 - Connie Ford, Director, Integrated Service Line, Pediatric Hematology/Oncology

December 2010 - Bryon Pickard, Director of Operations, VMG Business Office - Administrative Support

September 2010 - Mark Sullivan, Director, Inpatient Pharmacy Operations, Pharmacy Administration

May 2010 - Donna Forsythe, Director, Administration and Finance, Strategy and Transformation

March 2010 - Jay Groves, Administrative Director, Health Promotion Center

December 2009 - Karen Hughart, Director, Systems Support Services

September 2009 - Donna Williams, Administrative Director, Operative Services, Monroe Carell Jr. Children's Hospital at Vanderbilt