Groundbreaking collaborations start “when intelligent people are asked to do a demanding but worthy task and given the freedom and tools to do it.”  – Warren Bennis, Organizing Genius

The Institute is directed by:
Robert S. Dittus, M.D., M.P.H.
Director, Institute for Medicine and Public Health
Executive Vice President for Public Health and Health Care
Senior Associate Dean for Population Health Sciences
Albert and Bernard Werthan Chair in Medicine
Director, Geriatric Research, Education and Clinical Center
Director, Quality Scholars Program 

2525 West End Avenue, Suite 1200
Phone: 615.322.7916
Email: robert.dittus@vumc.org

Katherine E. Hartmann, M.D., Ph.D. 
Associate Dean, Clinical and Translational Scientist Development
Deputy Director, Institute for Medicine & Public Health
Director, Graduate Studies in Epidemiology
Professor, Obstetrics & Gynecology and Medicine

2525 West End Avenue, Suite 600
Phone: 615.936.8320
Email: katherine.hartmann@vumc.org

Our community of researchers spans over twenty affiliated centers and programs whose leadership makes the work of the Institute possible. They include:

Shari Barkin, M.D., M.S.H.S.
Child and Adolescent Health Services Research Program
8246 Doctor´s Office Tower, Vanderbilt Children´s Hospital 
Phone: 615.936.8066
Email: shari.barkin@vumc.org

Keith G. Meador, M.D., Th.M., MPH 
Center for Biomedical Ethics and Society 
2525 West End Avenue, Suite 400
Phone: 615.936.6826
Email: keith.meador@vumc.org

William Cooper, M.D., M.P.H.
Vanderbilt Master´s in Public Health Program 
Division of General Pediatrics
Suite 313 Oxford House
Phone: 615.936.2430
Email: william.cooper@vumc.org

Charlene M. Dewey, M.D., M.Ed., F.A.C.P. 
Center for Professional Health
 
 1107 Oxford House
Phone: 615.936.0678
Email: cph@vanderbilt.edu 

Johnathan Metzl, Ph.D.
Center for Medicine, Health, and Society 
220 Garland Hall
Phone: 615.343.0916
Email: johnathan.metzl@vanderbilt.edu

Tom A. Elasy, M.D., M.P.H.
Diabetes Research and Training Center 
8210 Medical Center East 
Phone: 615.936.7772 
Email: tom.elasy@vumc.org

E. Wesley Ely, M.D., M.P.H.
T32 Health Services Research Training Program
6109 Medical Center East
Phone: 615.936.3395
Email: wes.ely@vumc.org

Marie R. Griffin, M.D., M.P.H.
Developing Evidence to Inform Decisions about Effectiveness
Center for Education and Research in Therapeutics 
T32 Health Services Research Training Program
Village at Vanderbilt, Suite 2600 
Phone: 615.343.6338  
Email: marie.griffin@vanderbilt.edu  

Tina Hartert, M.D., M.P.H.
Center for Asthma and Environmental Sciences Research 
T-1218 Medical Center North
Phone: 615.936.3412
Email: tina.hartert@vumc.org

Yvonne Joosten, M.P.H.
Office for Community Engagement
Community Engaged Research Program 
2525 West End Avenue, Suite 600
Phone: 615.936.5620
Email: yvonne.joosten@vumc.org 

David Penson, M.D., M.P.H.
Center for Surgical Quality and Outcomes Research 
2525 West End Avenue, Suite 600
Phone: 615.936.8322
Email: david.penson@vumc.org

Wayne Ray, Ph.D.
Vanderbilt Master´s in Public Health Program 
Village at Vanderbilt, Suite 2600
Phone: 615.343.6338
Email: wayne.ray@vumc.org

Russell Rothman, M.D., M.P.P.
Program on Effective Health Communication 
Center for Health Services Research 
6000 Medical Center East
Phone: 615.343.7584
Email: russell.rothman@vumc.org

John F. Schnelle, Ph.D.
Center for Quality Aging 
S-1121 Medical Center North
Phone: 615.343.6580
Email: john.schnelle@vumc.org

Ted Speroff, Ph.D.
Center for Patient Healthcare Behavior
VA Tennessee Valley Healthcare System, 4th Floor
Phone: 615.873.6057 (VA office)
Email: ted.speroff@vumc.orgted.speroff@va.gov 

William Swiggart, M.S., L.P.C.
Center for Professional Health 
1107 Oxford House
Phone: 615.936.0678
Email: cph@vanderbilt.edu

Matthew B. Weinger, M.D.
Center for Perioperative Research in Quality
732 Medical Arts Building
Phone: 615.936.6598
Email: matt.weinger@vumc.org

Wei Zheng, M.D., Ph.D.
Vanderbilt Epidemiology Center 
2525 West End Ave, 8th floor
Phone: 615.936.0682
Email: wei.zheng@vumc.org