Principal Investigator 

Roumie_0.jpgChristianne Roumie, MD, MPH

Professor, Internal Medicine & Pediatrics
Deputy Director, VA TVHS Quality Scholars Program
Director, Master of Public Health Program, Vanderbilt University

Dr. Roumie is an Associate Professor of Internal Medicine and Pediatrics. She received her bachelor’s from Rutgers University, her medical degree from the New Jersey Medical School, and her public health degree from Vanderbilt University. Dr. Roumie also completed her Internal Medicine and Pediatrics training at Vanderbilt. After residency, she joined the VA Quality Scholars Fellowship Program at Vanderbilt, for which she currently serves as Assistant Director. Dr. Roumie’s area of research has been the design and execution of interventions to improve cardiovascular risk factors among patients and ultimately lead to decreases in cardiovascular morbidity.  A major focus of her work has been the development and implementation of a research portfolio that evaluates appropriate medication utilization as a barrier to optimal patient outcomes, and as risk factors for cardiovascular disease. 


Program Director

Dr-Carlos-Grijalva.jpgCarlos G. Grijalva, MD

Associate Professor, Division of Pharmacoepidemiology, Department of Health Policy
Co-Director, Vanderbilt's Developing Evidence to Inform Decisions about Effectiveness (DEcIDE) 

Dr. Grijalva is a member of the Vanderbilt Epidemiology Center, a Scholar at the Vanderbilt Center for Health Services Research, and an investigator at the Veterans Affairs Tennessee Valley Geriatric Research Education and Clinical Center. His interests include the evaluation of medications’ safety and effectiveness; the design of observational studies; and, methodologies for comparative effectiveness research.
Dr. Grijalva is experienced designing and conducting studies of medications effects using large databases, and his research focuses on the assessments of medications used for diabetes, opioid analgesics, biologic medications, vaccine-preventable respiratory diseases - especially pneumococcal and influenza infections - and the evaluation of the effectiveness of vaccination and other preventive programs.

Executive Committee 


Sunil Kripalani, MD, MSc, SFHM, FACP

Professor of Medicine
Director, Center for Clinical Quality and Implementation Research 
Director, Center for Health Services Research

Dr. Kripalani is the founding Director of the Center for Clinical Quality and Implementation Research and Director of the Center for Health Services Research. He has developed, implemented, and evaluated numerous interventions to improve the quality, safety, value, and patient-centeredness of health care delivery, with a focus on health communication, social determinants of health, medication management, and transitions of care. He has experience in the development of evidence-based toolkits, mentored implementation programs, mixed-methods evaluation of interventions in clinical practice, and de-implementation of wasteful practices.

Rothman Russell L-3305.jpg

Russell Rothman, MD, MPP

Ingram Chair in Integrative and Population Health
Senior Vice President, Population and Public Health 
Director, Institute for Medicine and Public Health
Chief, Internal Medicine & Pediatrics Section

Dr. Rothman is a Professor of Internal Medicine, Pediatrics, and Health Policy. He serves as Senior Vice President for Population Health Research at Vanderbilt University Medical Center, and he is Chief of the Internal Medicine and Pediatrics Section in the Department of Medicine. As Director of the Institute for Medicine and Public Health, Dr. Rothman oversees an Institute that engages more than 292 faculty members involved in health services research, implementation science, behavioral research, health disparities research, quality improvement research and other areas aimed at improving health outcomes. He currently serves as the Principal Investigator of the PCORI funded STAR Clinical Research Network, which includes electronic health record data on over 12 million patients and supports pragmatic clinical research and real world evidence research. Dr. Rothman also led the CMS funded Mid-South Practice Transformation Network, which engaged over 4,000 clinicians in quality improvement in the Mid-South region. His current research focuses on preventing, managing, and improving care for adult and pediatric patients with chronic diseases, with particular focus on health literacy and numeracy in patients with diabetes and obesity.

Stevenson.pngDavid Stevenson, PhD

Associate Professor, Health Policy 
Vice Chair for Education, Health Policy
Director, Health Policy Track, Master of Public Health Program

David Stevenson is currently an Associate Professor of Health Policy in the Department of Health Policy at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine.  Dr. Stevenson’s primary research interests are long-term care and end of life care.  His previous work has focused on a broad range of topics in these areas, including the evolution of Medicare’s hospice benefit, end-of-life care for Medicare Advantage enrollees, long-term-care financing options for the future, and the impact of Medicare Part D in the nursing home pharmacy sector.  He has worked in various research and policy settings, including the U.S. Public Health Service, the University of Washington School of Public Health, the Urban Institute, the Visiting Nurse Service of New York, and Medstat.

Internal Advisory Committee

Robert Dittus, MD, MPH (Chair)
Albert and Bernard Werthan Professor of Medicine 
Executive Vice President for Public Health and Health Care
Senior Associate Dean for Population Health Sciences 
Director, Institute for Medicine and Public Health, VA Geriatric Research, Education and Clinical Center, VA Quality Scholars Program

Gordon Bernard, MD 
Melinda Owen Bass Professor of Medicine
Executive Vice President for Research
Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Science

Nancy Brown, MD 
Hugh J. Morgan Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology  
Chair and Physician-in-Chief, Department of Medicine

Melinda Beeuwkes Buntin, PhD
Professor and Mike Curb Chair, Department of Health Policy 

Kecia Carroll, MD, MPH
Associate Professor of Pediatrics

Katherine Hartmann, MD, PhD
Lucius E. Burch Chair of Reproductive Physiology and Family Planning 
Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Professor of Medicine
Associate Dean for Clinical and Translational Scientist Development

David Penson, MD, MPH
Chair, Department of Urologic Surgery 
Paul V. Hamilton, MD and Virginia E. Howd Professor of Urologic Oncology
Co-Leader, Cancer Health Outcomes and Control Research Program
Director, Center for Surgical Quality and Outcomes Research

David Posch, MS
Executive Vice President for Population Health, Vanderbilt Health Affiliated Network
immediate past CEO, Vanderbilt University Hospital and Clinics

External Advisory Committee:

L. Ebony Boulware, MD
Chief, Division of General Internal Medicine in the Department of Medicine
Director, Duke Clinical and Translational Science Award
Vice Dean for Translational Sciences 
Professor in the Department of Community and Family Medicine

Peter Buerhaus, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor of Nursing
Director, Center for Interdisciplinary Health Workforce Studies, Montana State University

Rowena Dolor, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
Vanderbilt-Meharry Alliance

Amy Kilbourne, PhD, MPH
Acting Director of VA/HSR&D Quality Enhancement Research Initiative

Morris Weinberger, PhD
Vergil N. Slee Distinguished Professor of Healthcare Quality Management
Chair, Department of Health Policy and Management