Racial Equity Task Force Members Named

RETF compilation


More than 30 staff, students, and faculty have been named to the recently announced Racial Equity Task Force, a key component of VUMC’s plan to address racial inequities. The Task Force is charged with soliciting input from across the medical center and identifying key steps to eliminating racism at VUMC. 

Co-chaired by Mamie Williams, MPH, MSN, Peety Kaur, and Michael R. DeBaun, MD, MPH, the Task Force includes representatives from nursing, food and nutrition, campus police, human resources, medicine, pediatrics and surgery. Medical students, graduate students and resident trainees are also on the Task Force. 

The Task Force will focus on racial equity and antiracism across a range of areas including hiring and retention, recruiting and supporting learners, racial bias in health science education and research, and interpersonal discrimination. The Task Force will present recommendations to the Office of the CEO and Dean before the end of calendar year 2020. The resulting report will be shared with the medical center community.

Racial Equity Task Force Membership


Michael R. DeBaun, MD, MPH ~ VUMC Sickle Cell Disease Center
Karampreet (“Peety”) Kaur ~ Medical Student 
Mamie Williams, MPH, MSN, FNP-BC ~ Patient Safety


Xavier Bledsoe ~ Medical Student
David Chestnut, MD ~ Anesthesiology
James E. Crowe, Jr., MD ~ Pediatric Infectious Disease
Courtney Deal ~ VUH Nutrition Management
Major Charles DeFrance ~ VU Police
Judy Emeodi, BSN, RN ~ Pediatric Emergency
Lourdes Estrada, PhD ~ Biochemistry
Vivian Gama, PhD ~ Department of Cell and Developmental Biology
Helen Gambrah ~ Medical Student
Etoi A. Garrison, MD, PhD ~ Clinical Obstetrics and Gynecology
Whitney L. Hall, MBA ~ Hospital and Clinical Administration
Saif Hamdan ~ Medical Student
Sara Hanai, MS ~ Patient Experience 
Katherine E. Hartmann, MD, PhD ~ VP, Research Integration
Jay Hinesley, MHA ~ President Wilson County Vanderbilt Hospital
Celestial Jones-Paris, PhD ~ VICTR
Nelly-ange Kontchou, MD ~ General Surgery Housestaff
Novonda Lilly, PHR, RACR ~ Human Resources
James Lozada, DO ~ Anesthesiology
Megan McCall, MS ~ Human Resources
John A. McPherson, MD ~ Department of Medicine
Kelvin Moses, MD, PhD ~ Department of Urology
Jameson Norton, MBA ~ Psychiatric Hospital and Outpatient Clinics
Carlos Ortega ~ Medical Student
Joshua Palmer, MA ~ Strategic Market Engagement
Tonise Robinson, BSN, RN ~ Obstetrics
Gabriel Sandoval, MD ~ Department of Medicine
C. Henrique Serezani, PhD ~ Infectious Disease
Marsha Sesay, RN, MSN ~ Surgical Stepdown
Raeshell Sweeting, MD ~ Vice Chair for Diversity & Inclusion
Taylor Thomas, MD ~ Pediatrics Housestaff
Angela Thompson, MBA ~ Radiation Oncology
Derek J. Williams, MD, MPH ~ Inpatient Pediatrics

Ex-Officio Members

Donald W. Brady, MD, Executive Vice President, Educational Affairs and Senior Associate Dean for Health Science Education
André L. Churchwell, MD, Chief Diversity Officer (VUMC); Vice Chancellor of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (VU)
Rolanda Johnson, PhD, MSN, RN, Assistant Dean, Diversity and Inclusion (VUSN), Assistant Dean for Academics, Associate Professor
Linda Sealy, PhD, Associate Dean, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion – Basic Sciences
Kyla Terhune, MD, MBA, FACS, Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education
Consuelo H. Wilkins, MD, MSCI, Vice President for Health Equity, and Associate Dean for Health Equity



Workgroups are comprised of Task Force members and others nominated by Task Force co-chairs and workgroup leaders in order to diversify the groups to include learners, staff, and faculty. To view a full list of the Task Force workgroups and their members, click here.

RETF Org Chart